top of page

Worthington Glacier Valdez Alaska

* Original Journal Entry October 14th 2019 *


Valdez, AK is the northernmost ice-free port in the USA, burned into many people's memories by the terrible Exxon-Valdez Oil Spill in 1989 - the worst in human history until Deepwater Horizon in 2010. Some remnants of the 11 million gallons of oil spilled can still be found in pockets around the sound, over 30 years later


To the extreme, I rock a mic like a vandal ❄ Light up a stage and wax a chump like a candle

We originally drove to Valdez to take a canoe trip through Worthington Glacier. But, due to ice & wind our canoe trip got a change of plans to climbing and descending into it Wortington Glacier via rappelling.


The blue ice of the Worthington Glacier is one of the most beautiful things you will ever see.

The one thing I’ll never do again but glad I did it

I only agreed to go down because my best friend had a bucket list & I knew I’d NEVER do this again. The first part I totally trusted my guide. Trust as in- I’m going to close my eyes & him tell me where to move which foot in which direction- until he gave me more slack than I wanted. Then, my big bright eyes went to praying out loud. Like “Lord if you get me out of this I will never be this dumb again, double check the salvation prayer too.”


I do not like enclosed spaces, for the record. But, I got my crap together. Gave myself a pep talk, said Ashleigh you’ve gotta do this for one of my favorite seniors at work & let the adrenaline rush kick in. I looked at my very patient guide, Zach & said with the scouts honor sign you better get my blankety blank out of here- waiver or not. 👌🏼


I’ll stick to warm land pressing forward though. But, it was a very fun experience.



Our Guide Zach with Alaska Guide company couldn’t have been better.

Check out Alaska Guide Company here: https://alaska.guide/

or check them out on the Gram at alaska.guide


Besides being a port for oil exports, Valdez is an active freight and fishing port.  The town is also a popular out of the way tourist destination and has a few popular restaurants and bars. The water in the marina is an unreal turquoise and it's fun to walk the boardwalk and watch the bustle of activity. For lunch we ate at the Fat mermaid. prices were good and the food was filling.



Lodging: Airbnb EYEMAX Alaska


click here for $35 off your AIRBNB https://abnb.me/e/fK4fRjZUs9

Comments


thumbnail_86720A84-9E1D-4C37-9722-930826

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This blog is the girl who is working a full time job & chasing her dream on the side. The daughter who is now parenting her aging parents. The girl who ended her engagement & went through a season of singleness. The girl who heavy pours her wine & prays at the same time. The girl finding financial freedom.  The girl who watches YouTube trying to create the perfect eyebrows. The girl who loves adventure & wants a life full of memories of travel. The girl in grief of a miscarriage. The girl who got up today & gave life her best shot & came home exhausted.This blog is here for you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page